LibGuides: Prep School Library: Magical and Monstrous History

Book Best Bets

The Ruin of All Witches by Malcolm Gaskill
ISBN: 0593316576
Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Isaac Newton by Michael White
ISBN: 9780738201436
Publication Date: 1999-04-06
A New Orleans Voudou Priestess
ISBN: 9780813032146
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
Werewolf Histories by Willem de Blécourt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137526335
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Victorian Occultism and the Making of Modern Magic by Alison Butler
ISBN: 0230223397
Publication Date: 2011-01-05
Haunted by Leo Braudy
ISBN: 9780300203806
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Our Old Monsters by Brenda S. Gardenour Walter
ISBN: 1476619425
Publication Date: 2015-07-08
Talking to the Dead by Barbara Weisberg
ISBN: 9780060750602
Publication Date: 2005-03-29
Naming the Witch by James Siegel
ISBN: 9780804751957
Publication Date: 2005-11-23

There's An Old Woman Dwells on Tappington Moor, 1911

University of Glasgow: Special Collections, Occult Sciences
Check out this fascinating archival collection, which includes books and images about demonology, witchcraft and magic.
The Cornell University Witchcraft Collection
Cornell has many digitized rare books and manuscripts about witches and magic, primarily in Europe.
Nytimes
This is a great place to look for primary resources from 1850-present.

The Witches by Henry Fuseli, 1873

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
An EXCELLENT place to research this assignment. You'll find lots of journals, book chapters and more. Note: make sure you select "only content I can access" when searching, so you don't hit a paywal.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Very good for humanities research--you should be able to find some journal articles related to witchcraft, werewolves, spiritualism, etc. And don't count out their image collection!
Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A good place to start--you can access background information from encyclopedia articles, as well as news articles and journals.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Get a feel for what it would be like to live in the past--very useful when looking for context & background information.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Especially helpful for those of you researching the Salem Witch Trials!
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Look for criticism & reference info about literary works: Dracula, etc.

The Beast of Gévaudan

Magic, Ritual and Witchcraft (available on Project Muse)

Fabula: A Journal of Folklore Studies (available on Academic Search Premier)

Journal of Interdisciplinary History (available on Project Muse)

Journal of the History of Ideas (available on Project Muse)

Preternature: Critical and Historical Studies on the Preternatural (available on Project Muse)

Album of Spirit Photographs, 1872

Digital Occult Library
This collection of online resources is brought to you by the CUNY Academic Commons. This is a great place to start your research--you'll find a great breadth of topics here.
Kaballah Texts on Sefaria
Sefaria is a free, open source library of Jewish texts. Read works related to Kabbalah here, including the Zohar & various commentaries.
Occult Sciences and Parapsychology
This is the New York Public Library's guide to its occult holdings--take advantage of this library's vast trove of books and archival items!
Arcane Knowledge Collection
From the San Francisco Public Library--browse their collection of the strange and mysterious. Ms. F can help you access some of these titles.
Inside Indonesia
This is a publication about Indonesian Affairs for an Australian audience--which means it's in English!