LibGuides: Prep School Library: Research Resources

The Humanities

Use these databases for your English or elective projects! Oxford is a great place to start for general information. Bloom's Lit has articles and media related to most required high school readings.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Perfect for English papers and projects of all levels. No password needed on campus or at home.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
No password needed on campus. At home, use
Username:columbiagps
Password:Lions#1!
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A world-class dictionary. From the publisher: "An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world." No password needed on campus. At home:
Username:columbiagps
Password:Lions#1!
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
CGPS has access to many Oxford ebooks on Classical Studies, Literature, Music and History. Search through the ebooks here. No password needed on campus, at home, use: Username: columbiagps Password:Lions#1!

Journalism

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Sometimes referred to as the Grey Lady, the New York Times is a news institution. An excellent place to look for articles on current events, criticism, essays, infographics and much more. Includes access to 150+ years of journalism through their archive. Make an account here: nyt.com/passes. Then you'll be able to log in using your CGPS email.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Notable for its business coverage, the Wall Street Journal is a great place to look while researching economics, business, law, finance, and more. Username: cgps@cgps.org Password: lions1764
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Our magazine platform! Check out current and back issues of Wired, National Review, The New Yorker, The Atlantic, National Philosopher. National Geographic, The New Republic, Orion, The Week and Consumer Reports. Try the app to read on your phone and tablet. Username: columbia Password: Lions#1!
Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Database of modern and historical newspapers. Barcode: empirelink
Washington Post, The This link opens in a new window
As their tagline "Democracy Dies in Darkness" would suggest, the Post specializes in current events and hard-hitting, well researched investigative reporting. Great for national and global news.
How to access:
Username: cgps@cgps.org
Password: Lions#1!
To log in, click "Sign in" at the top right of the screen. You'll be prompted for an email address, enter it, then click "next". Then you can enter the password.

Q: What is a Multidisciplinary database?

A: It's a database that contains information or records about many different subjects. For example, JSTOR has articles about literature, math, science, social studies, art, and more.

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR

One of the best and most popular academic databases. You will use JSTOR in college, so why not get used to it know?
Especially good for humanities research.

Gale Academic OneFile

An excellent and easy to use database for a wide variety of subjects. Check out the topic finder tool to help you start your research process.

Academic Search Premiere

Ebsco's high-level multidisciplinary database. Great for upperclassmen!

Encyclopedias

Britannica Escolar

Britannica's premiere Spanish encyclopedia.

Issues and Controversies

Some history or social studies classes may require you to learn about a complicated or "hot-button" issue. These databases are chock-full of reliable information about a wide range of social and historical issues. You'll be able to find pro-con articles, supporting research, videos and more.

Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
No password needed on campus or at home.
Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
No password needed on campus or at home.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A good choice for history, civics, journalism and current events classes. Reliable information on many contemporary issues. Barcode: empirelink
Health and Wellness Issues This link opens in a new window
Search for health/wellness topics here--perfect for science, wellness, PE and advisory classes. Appropriate for MS and PS students.
username: Columbia5w
password: MelvilleWhales!

History

As you might expect, a good chunk of our databases focus on history! If your project focuses on a time period or location, select the database that works the best for you. If you're not sure which one to choose, try a multidisciplinary database.

African -American History This link opens in a new window
A subject specific history database. Excellent for American History research. Really nice interface--check out the subject guides & the tabs in your search results. No password needed on campus or at home.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
No password needed on campus or at home.
US History This link opens in a new window
Barcode: empirelink
World History This link opens in a new window
Barcode: empirelink

Science

We have several science databases for your use. Underclassmen should use our Gale or Infobase options. Upperclassmen looking for scientific articles will find Science Direct helpful.

Science Online This link opens in a new window
This database covers the width and breadth of the sciences, with diagrams, experiments, data, biographies, articles and more. This is an excellent place to start with any high school level science research. No password needed on campus or at home.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Today's Science has news, articles and videos all about cutting edge science. You'll also find "Conversations with Scientists", a section with great interviews. No password needed on campus or at home.
Science This link opens in a new window
Gale's general science database--find journal articles and general encyclopedic info here.
Barcode: empirelink
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scientific and technical journals for advanced research. On campus use only, no password needed
Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
Barcode: empirelink
Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Barcode: empirelink

Culture & Social Science

Many of these databases are pretty similar to the history databases on this page--but they focus on society and daily life.

World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window
No password needed on campus or at home.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
A great choice for 8-10th graders. Subject specific database.
username: Columbia5w
password: MelvilleWhales!
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
username: Columbia5w
password: MelvilleWhales!

Prep School Library: Research Resources

Database Guide

The library offers dozens of amazing databases, perfect for any research project or essay. Below you'll find a selection of some of our best options, organized by subject. For the full list, head over to the A-Z Database List.