Skip to Main Content

History of Religion Final Project Guide: History of Religion

History of Religion Final Project

Islam Online Resources

Al-Islam.org
A repository of thousands of Islamic texts, in Arabic and English
Islamic Heritage Project-Harvard University
A collection of manuscripts, documents and maps from Harvard's archives.

Buddhism Resources

Buddhist Digital Resource Center
An online archive of 28 millions Buddhist texts--the largest collection of Buddhist and Tibetan texts in the world. Make sure to choose "English" when you explore the library.

The History of Buddhism (ebook) by Geoffrey C. Goble
ISBN: 9781440864049
Publication Date: 2019-10-11
Use the following credentials:
Username: columbia
Password: lions#1!
Understanding Buddhism (ebook) by A. W. Buckey
ISBN: 9781532114236
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Use the following credentials:
Username: columbia
Password: lions#1!

General Religion Resources

BBC Religions Database
This site has good, basic information about various world religions. It would be a good place to start your research!
The Oxford Handbook of the Study of Religion
Access on campus only.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Science
Access on campus only.
Oxford Handbook Topics in Religion
more...less...
Access on campus only.

Great Events in Religion [ebook] by Florin Curta (Editor); Andrew Holt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610695657
Publication Date: 2016-11-28
credentials:
Username: columbia
Password: lions#1!

Rastafari Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
One of the best and most popular academic databases. You will use JSTOR in college, so why not get used to it know?
Especially good for humanities research. On campus use only, no password required.

The First Rasta (ebook) by Hélène Lee; Stephen Davis (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781556525582
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Use the following credentials:
Username: columbia
Password: lions#1!
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions (ebook) by Patrick Taylor (Editor); Frederick I. Case (Editor)
ISBN: 9780252037238
Publication Date: 2013-08-30
Use the following credentials:
Username: columbia
Password: lions#1!

Jainism Resources

Jain eLibrary
A free library of hundreds of Jain texts. This site looks old fashioned but give it a chance--it's a great resource!
Young Jains of America
This site is a part of the Jain Federation of North America. The "education" tab has a lot of good information about the Jain religion. Good for a younger audience.

Sikhism Resources

Sikh Coalition
A US based organization. Good background information, and an excellent bibliography for futher reading.
KhojGurbani: Sri Guru Granth Sahib
This site offers the central text of Sikhism, Sri Guru Granth Sahib, online in English.

Bah'ai Resources

Bahai.org
This is the official site of the Bah'ai religion--a good place for general information and a contemporary look at the religion. Also includes a reference library (in English!)
The Pluralism Project: Bah'ai Essays
Explores the Bah'ai religion from a pluralistic, US perspective. From Harvard University.